Picture
Just wanted to share some ideas with you on how I bought my first Coleman popup camper. About 4 years ago my family got this bad itch to go camping. It would be my wife, my two girls ages 4 and 6 at the time and myself. Considering their ages, my wife and I were not too enthusiastic about regular tent camping, so we started to look at popup campers.

It took me 6 months of weekly research and pricing to finally find the right popup, a Coleman popup. I literally spent 6 months researching tent trailers and determined out of the dozen or so manufacturers that Coleman makes the best product hands down.

Coleman campers are simply constructed better and are made to last. Their lift system is second to none and metal frame construction can withstand decades of use. That and Coleman campers just make sense. They have the features a family needs and the layout is smart. Everything is located where it should be for ease of use and maintenance.
 
I ended up buying a 1998 Coleman Westlake off of Craigslist and we have enjoyed it dozens of times over the years. We take it out all the time and it has all the comforts of home. It has a bathroom, shower, AC, 4 burner stove, refrigerator and 2 king bed pullouts.

The only thing I wish it has was a heater. We do a lot of fall and early spring camping and the temp can drop into the 40's at night. It gets pretty cold as the only thing separating you between the elements is a piece of canvas. Anyway, that's the only thing I wish the camper had. Other than that it's been a huge asset for my family.
Doug Wallace
9/7/2011 11:16:25 am

Do you know of a place to get parts for my 2001 Coleman Mesa? I lost a couple of exterior light covers.

Reply
Brian
4/27/2013 11:04:46 pm

Campingworld usually has something that will work on all replacement lenses and such.

Reply
Wanda
12/14/2011 04:33:27 am

Where can I get a user's manual for a coleman fleetwood laredo. I recently bought the camper and I need help!!!

Reply
Brian
4/27/2013 11:06:36 pm

Try http://www.popupportal.com/index.php?action=media;sa=album;in=68

Reply
Jackie Klump
2/24/2012 09:47:01 pm

I have a question about my Coleman Utah. One of the inside rails that holds up the tent part is broken. Do you know where I can order parts?

Thank you.

Reply
Joan Pettis
9/20/2012 06:04:10 am

I too am looking for an owners manual. My son was recently given a 1986 (?) Coleman popup, but there was no manual with it. Do you know of good place to look or inquire?

Reply
10/26/2012 01:29:22 am

A friend of mine here at the slabs, just dropped the price of a 1998 Coleman Popup Trailer. I saw it, it is really clean and in excellant condition. He is selling it for a friend who kept it under a carport, hardly used. I would buy it but I don't have anything to tow it with (yet). It is a really sweet tent trailer for someone looking for a nice bargain. Like new condition, canvas sides are in perfect condition. I've seen some advertised on Craigs with crappy tent sides. Don't know how they think they can ask for those prices when something like this, in great condition, sells for same or less!

Reply
Barb
4/17/2013 05:38:57 am

How much is it and where are you from

Reply
1/15/2013 02:59:51 am

I have a 2001 Coleman Bayside Grand Tour Popup and i need the popup seal,this seal goes between the tpo and botton while closed,does anyone know where i can find one are if i can just try to match one.Ron

Reply
George
4/22/2013 07:00:46 am

I bought a 1996 fleetwood without cabinets in it? Where can I get some for my pop up? Does anybody knows?

Reply
Brian
4/27/2013 11:11:44 pm

Your best bet is to try and find a similar model that is being sold for parts. they simply do not make those any longer. You can rip out the parts you need and sell the rest to recoup the money. If you are up for a project, you could also build your own. There is not much to them, especially in a popup.

Reply
Tom Vallis
4/23/2013 08:52:23 pm

We bought a 2000 Bayside (Love the size / floorspace). Found a Niagra on CL for parts and installed it's shower/Thetford cassette toilet into our unit! Found the front storage box was rotted, so replaced all wood with 3/4 plywood, wrapped exterior of wood with tar paper, and sealed it tight, can't wait to take it out this summer!

Reply
Brian
4/27/2013 11:13:19 pm

George, reference this comment above. Tom got creative, found one for parts! They are out there.

Reply
Tom
5/6/2013 10:27:06 pm

The CL Niagra was a huge score. The front storage box remodel was tough as I built the new box then installed the plastic nose over it, NOT the way Coleman builds them, but a much more solid way to do it. All in all I could have done it in 1 full day, so if you smell musty mold, check that front storage box! The camper smells like new, and I have peace of mind.

Jenna
5/12/2013 08:04:13 am

I just have a question, we have a pop-up camper that seems very similar to yours. We go camping quite a few times a year and the pop-up has started to get is wear and tear. Like the wood or whatever it is was made a lot worse in this camper as compared to our last one. Theres a cabinet next to a bench and the top just cracked and collapsed. Any advice on how to fix that? And then the rubber siding to every piece keeps coming off, and the table under the third bed just cracked one day. Any advice on where to get a new table. I think this coleman camper is a 2000, its my parents and I really want to fix it all for us over the summer. Thanks!

Reply
Darin
5/13/2013 11:23:09 am

Have a 2000 Coleman Tacoma and noticed the seam tape is starting to flake. Has not been in rain yet this year. Do I need to re seal the seams? If so what do you use?

Reply
Brian
8/10/2013 01:20:02 pm

No, should be fine. Sorry this is late. Was not getting the e-mail notifications on comments.

Reply
Tom
5/28/2013 03:01:03 am

The "T" molding for the table and cabinets edging stuck pretty well with contact adhesive, coat both sides really good, let them dry, then put the molding back on, I clamped it for a few days.
For a cracked table I would 3/4" plywood with formica!

Reply
Vitaliy
5/28/2013 02:14:06 pm

We are looking to buy a '99 Coleman Redwood 10' with fridge and stove, handpump water (no shower or any other fancy features) on craigslist for about $2,400. It looks like its in good condition based on the pictures. I'm new to trailers, anything I should watch out for or should inspect extra carefully? Is that a good price on this one assuming there is nothing wrong with it? Thanks!

Reply
Brian
8/10/2013 01:15:36 pm

Sorry this is late, but you always want to check out the Coleman roof systems in that year range. Some of them were terrible. Lift systems and everything else are usually ok, just some got bad roofs.

Reply
TERRY ADCOCK
8/10/2013 12:58:00 pm

RECENTLY I'VE HAD TWO OPEN HEART SURGERIES AND MY STRENGTH AND ENDURANCE IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE. DO YOU KNOW OF AN AFTER MARKET ELECTRIC LIFT FOR THE COLEMAN UTAH?

Reply
Brian
8/10/2013 01:13:33 pm

Check out

http://www.popupexplorer.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=0669423833f21da8e618c53a09b79f67&topic=73139.msg101291#msg101291

That should help. There are major list systems out there that you can install, but they can get a little expensive. I'd get one of those socket jenie and a decent drill as the link outlines. If that still doesn't do it for you, you can invest in a wench system to get the lift working for you.

Reply
James
10/13/2013 04:42:11 pm

Can anyone tell me if the 2000 coleman niagara elite is a high wall model or not? The reason I ask is because I am considering buying one, however do not want get stuck with a towing problem?

Reply
Tom
4/16/2014 06:23:38 am

Q - There is a storage rack under my 2000 Bayside, located to the rear of the axel, has 2 latches, and is hinged. I would say its 2 - 3' square, maybe 3-4" deep? What is it for..storage, a Gray tank??

Reply
TERRY
4/16/2014 08:05:06 am

TOM, IT HELD A PORTABLE GRAY/BLACK WATER TANK ON WHEELS SIMILAR TO WHAT YOU CAN BUY AT JC WHITNEY OR CAMPING WORLD. MY UTAH STILL HAS IT. IT APPEARS TO HOLD 10-15 GALLONS.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi, my name is Brian and I am a huge Coleman popup camper fan.

    I own a 1998 Coleman Westlake, purchased used 4 years ago.

    Coleman makes the best tent trailers hands down in my opinion!

    Archives

    September 2010

    Categories

    All
    Coleman Popup Camper
    Tent Trailers